It’s FestaTime

For my mom’s 60th birthday, we decided to throw a big shindig to celebrate the 6 decades of her wonderful life.

Mother & Daughter

We asked guests to write down their favorite memory of my mom from the past 60 years.  On the sign-in table, I included one of my favorite photos of my mother and grandmother, which was actually featured in a DC magazine over 40 years ago.

My Dress: old DVF and Mom's Dress: DKNY

My Dress: old DVF and Mom’s Dress: DKNY

We decided on a peacock theme for the party. We bought a bunch of peacock feathers from z gallery, (also available from your local Micheal’s craft store). We placed the feathers in guests’ napkins to add to the peacock decor. Also from z gallery we picked up some glittered peacock napkin rings to use as a decorative touch for the centerpieces.  We kept the linens simple and used a combination of solid white and olive  green tablecloths. On top of the white tablecloths we placed peacock themed runners to add an extra pop.

Lucky for me my professional-event-planner- cousin made all of the center pieces for the party. She used purple and violet carnations and blue hydrangeas to create these little beauties. We perched the peacock napkin rings within the arrangements to give them a little extra sparkle.

To many more years!

Singing our heart out.

Again I was very lucky because my mom’s family helped by making a lot of the desserts featured above. For the most part, we served traditional Portuguese dishes and desserts such as flan.

Love Birds

The love birds

All in all the party was a great success and everyone had a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

